Staging Options When Using the Publication Form

After you have enabled Staging (either Local Live or Remote Live) for a site, you will notice on the dockbar in your staging site that a new "Staging" drop-down menu appears that contains a green publish button. If you click on this button, a pop-up window will appear with several options that you can use to modify your publication process. This article describes these options in detail.

Resolution

There are six main sections that modify the publication process in different parts:

Staging_Options_01.png


Pages

This section displays the data that will be published related to your pages. If you click on the "Change" button, the page tree selector gives you the option to choose which pages to include when you publish. Please note that when you do not select any pages here, the portal will publish all pages.

There are four additional check boxes here:

Page_Selection_02.png


Application Configuration

Here you can select which portlets you want to publish. The default behavior is to publish all portlets that are placed on the pages selected in the previous section, but you have the option to choose the portlets one by one, or publish them without their portlet configuration.

Please also note that in case of Web Content Display portlets, you also have the ability to publish the displayed web content article along with it. This is very useful when you only need to publish those articles that are already displayed. This option is selected by default.

Application_Selection_03.png


Content

This section allows you to configure what content should be published. It is very important to note that the available entries in this section depend on your Date Range settings, and they are not influenced at all by the selected pages.

The Date Range options are the following:

Date_Range_04.png

All: With this option, all content that belongs to the Site will be available to be published, regardless of its creation date, even those entries that are already present in your Live Site.

From Last Publish Date: Choosing this option will make those entries available for publish that have been created or modified after the previous publish process, or were not published even before that. This is option is selected by default.

Date Range: You can set exact Start and End Dates and the content will be available that has been created or modified in between them.

Last...: You can select content based on a set amount of time since the current time. You can set the date range to the past 12, 24, 48 hours, or 7 days starting from the current time.

After the Date Range has been set, you can choose what type of content you wish to publish from the available ones. Depending on the content type, you can choose to publish the content referenced by the entries, their previews and thumbnails, or their version history for example.​

Content_Selection_05.png

Tips for Content Publishing

If you only need those Articles on Live that are already displayed on Live, do not select the Web Content checkbox in the content section. This way the process will only publish the Articles which are selected by a Web Content Display application, so the process will be faster.

Take a moment and review the additional data that will be published alongside with your entries. If you don't need all categories, referenced content of a content type, or the version history, it is a good idea to uncheck these options, which makes the process even faster.

If you are preparing to publish many entries, select only one type of content at a time, so the separate processes will be much faster, and you will be able to identify problematic entries easier.

If you have a very large site with lots of content and you need to publish the whole site to the Live environment, do not use the "All" or "From Last Publish Date" Date Range options. Perform partial publish processes instead, by specifying start and end dates for the processes. If you combine this with the previous tip, your publish processes will be more simple and clear.


Permissions

You can use this option to include permissions for the pages and portlets when the changes are published.


Remote Live Connection Settings

This option lets you review and change your connection settings to your Remote Live Site before publishing (only available when using Remote Staging). Please note that these settings will only be applied for the current publication process. To make the changes permanent you have to do it in Site Settings.

In this section you can also check the "Delete portlet data before importing." option. This can be used to clean up all data created by the portlets on the live site, just before the import process. Please note however, that depending on the amount of data, this process can take a while to finish, so it is better to use it on smaller sites only.

Remote_Live_Connection_Settings_06.png

Additional Information

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful