Have you ever wondered what happens to file shortcuts if their linked assets are recycled? What if you restore a file that has the same name as another file currently stored in your site/instance? The Recycle Bin already knows how to handle these types of issues.
When documents with shortcuts are moved to the Recycle Bin, the shortcuts are removed. This ensures that all your links and shortcuts work and cuts down on maintenance time and backtracking.
Another important trait how recycled content is managed with the Staging framework.
Although you there is only one master Recycle Bin for all asset types, when staging is enabled a Staging Recycle Bin is created. The original Recycle Bin, or Live Recycle Bin, is still viewable while in staging; however, it is never used.
During staging, everything you recycle is sent to the Staging Recycle Bin. This prevents staged and unstaged recycled content from mixing. For example, if you have an unstaged document currently on your live site you can enable staging and delete that document. If you were to turn staging off and return to the live site, without separate Recycle Bins, the live document would be both on your site and in the Recycle Bin! Because of this, the separate Staging Recycle Bin is necessary and only used during the staging process. When you publish your staged material, the Staging Recycle Bin content is transferred to the Live Recycle Bin.
The Recycle Bin saves you time by letting you restore content that’s been recycled. Instead of recreating or re-uploading content, you’ll be tailoring your Liferay instance to fully leverage its capabilities.