When managing content in Staging’s Advanced Publication menu, there are several factors to consider when preparing your content for publication. As described in Advanced Publication with Staging, you can navigate to the Content area of the Advanced Publication menu to select content you want to publish. There are options attached to each content group (e.g., Web Content) that you can manage too.
You’ll learn about some of these options and their best practices next.
This is represented by
- Structures and templates included in web content.
- Documents and Media files (e.g., images) included in web content.
You can exclude some of this content during publication or export to speed up the process. These references are validated during the publication process or an import, so the images must be published or imported first.
Web content tends to be updated frequently, often more so than other kinds of content. Sometimes this can result in high numbers of versions. If there are hundreds of versions, it can take a long time to publish these articles. You can bypass this by choosing to not publish the Version History (i.e., the past versions of the web content articles to be published). If you disable this, only the last approved version of each web content article is published to Live. This can significantly speed up the publication process.
You can set this option globally. If you navigate to the Control Panel → Configuration → System Settings → Web Content Administration, you can toggle the Publish version history by default checkbox. This sets the default behavior. When publishing content, it is selected by default, so site administrators must manually uncheck the Version History box to publish only the latest approved version of web content articles. To change the default behavior, enable the checkbox in System Settings.
Previews and thumbnails are generated automatically for documents. Disabling this, though, can greatly increase your publishing speed in some cases. You should be careful about publishing previews and thumbnails to the live site.
Imagine a scenario where a site has approximately 4000 images or documents. If the previews and thumbnails are turned on, this could end up in 28000 physical files on the disk. If staging is set up to publish the previews and thumbnails, this would mean that instead of taking care of the 4000 images, it would process seven times more files! If you still want to use the previews on your live environment, you can set up that Liferay instance to generate them automatically.
It depends on your environment for whether you can use the publishing of the previews and thumbnails. Publishing them is a heavy operation, and you must also transfer the LAR file over the network if you use remote staging. If you decide to generate them on the live site, understand that this could take some time, since it’s a CPU intense operation.
When working within a site, a user may select vocabularies from both the current site as well as the global site. While this doesn’t pose an issue when creating content, it can cause issues when publishing.
For environments that use both global and local vocabularies, note that global vocabularies must be published to the live site through global site staging. One way to avoid confusion with vocabularies is to keep all vocabularies local or global.
If both must be used, you can resolve the issue by ensuring that dependencies (e.g., categories and vocabularies) are published before publishing the site that depends on them (whether the dependencies are local or global).
Assets like tags, categories, structures, templates, application display templates, document types, and dynamic data lists can also be shared by a parent to its child sites. In this case, ensure that the ancestor’s dependencies are published before the site in question.
The Staging framework gathers deletions (including trashed entities) in a site. These deletions can be published to clean up the live site. If you plan to process it later, or if it’s not a problem to have lingering data on live, this can be turned off as well to save execution time during the process.