Adaptive Media lets you manage image resolutions and their resulting adapted images. For example, you can disable, enable, edit, and delete resolutions. You can also generate any adapted images that may be missing for a resolution. This article discusses these topics and more.
Disabling an image resolution prevents it from generating adapted images. Any images uploaded after the resolution is disabled use the most appropriate resolution that’s still active. Adapted images previously generated by the disabled resolution are still available.
To disable an image resolution, click its Actions menu () and select Disable.
Image resolutions are enabled by default. If you need to enable a disabled resolution, click that resolution’s Actions menu () and select Enable.
While a resolution is disabled, it doesn’t generate adapted images for new image uploads. After enabling a resolution, you should generate the adapted images that weren’t generated while it was disabled (see the Generating Missing Image Resolutions section for instructions on this).
You can’t edit an image resolution that already has adapted images. This prevents odd behavior (of the adapted images–you’re still free to be as odd as you want). This is because any changes would only be applied to images uploaded after the edit, creating an inconsistent set of adapted images. Odd indeed.
Therefore, editing an image resolution is only possible if Adaptive Media hasn’t yet generated adapted images for it. If you must change the values of a resolution that already has adapted images, you must delete that resolution and create a new one with the new values. The next section discusses deleting resolutions.
Be careful when deleting an image resolution, as any adapted images it created are irretrievably lost and are not automatically replaced by new image resolutions you create.
Follow these steps to delete an image resolution:
Disable the resolution. You can’t delete enabled resolutions. This prevents the accidental deletion of image resolutions.
To delete the resolution and all its adapted images, select Delete from the resolution’s Actions menu ().
If Adaptive Media hasn’t generated all the images you need–say, if new images were uploaded before a new image resolution was created or while the resolution was disabled–you must generate the missing images manually.
To manually generate missing adapted images,
For a single resolution, select Adapt Remaining from the resolution’s Actions menu ().
For all resolutions at once, select Adapt All Images from the Actions menu in the Control Menu at the top of the page.
You can’t move adapted images directly to the Recycle Bin. But if the original image is in the Recycle Bin, the corresponding adapted images behave as if they are in the Recycle Bin and users can’t view them.
If the original image is restored from the Recycle Bin, the adapted images are accessible again.
Awesome! Now you know how to manage image resolutions in Adaptive Media. Next, you’ll learn about creating content with adapted images.