Advanced Publication with Staging

Once you’ve finished your changes on the staged site and want to publish them, select the Publish to Live button from the Staging Bar. To configure advanced publication options, select the Switch to Advanced Publication button. Opening the Advanced Publication menu presents options for scheduling a time to publish your content, editing the pages/content to include in the publication, managing permissions, etc. This lets you perform advanced editing to your publication process.

Date

You have two options for the Date category:

Now: immediately pushes any changes to the live site.

Schedule: set a specific date to publish or to set up recurring publishing. You could use this to publish all changes made during the week every Monday morning without any further intervention.

These options let you plan staging schedules in advance.

Pages

This area of the menu gives you the option to choose which pages to include when you publish. You can choose the page group (Public or Private) to publish by selecting the Change to Public Pages or Change to Private Pages. You cannot publish both at the same time; you must complete their publication processes separately if you want to publish both page groups.

Figure 1: You have several ways to specify the pages you want included in your publication.

Figure 1: You have several ways to specify the pages you want included in your publication.

You can also choose specific pages to publish, and the look and feel of those pages.

Content

The Content area lets you select the content to be published. If you choose a page to be published from the Pages menu, the portlets and their references are always published, even if you specify differently in the Content section.

There are other filtering sub-options for certain content types. You first must choose what content to publish based on date. Specifying a date range lets you choose content to publish based on when it was created or last modified. Select the option that best fits your workflow. The available options are described in more detail below:

All: publishes all content regardless of its creation or last modification date.

From Last Publish Date: publishes content that was created or modified since the last publish date. This is the default option.

Date Range: publishes content based on a specified date range. You can set a start and end date/time window. The content created or modified within that window of time is published.

Last: publishes content based on a set amount of time since the current time. For example, you can set the date range to the past 48 hours, starting from the current time.

Under the date options are the different types of content that can be published. This list is populated based on the provided date range. For example, if at least one article is created or modified in the given date range, a Web Content section appears in the list, and the number of articles is shown next to the Web Content label. Otherwise, the Web Content section is absent.

The Categories content type is not dependent on the date range and is always shown in the list.

Unchecking the checkbox next to a certain content type excludes it from the current publication to the live site.

Some of the content types in the list, like Web Content and Documents and Media, have further filtering options. For instance, when the Web Content section is present and checked, it shows a comma-separated list of related items to be published, including the articles themselves. A sample list of related items for web content might look like this: Web Content(12), Structures(3), Referenced Content, Include Always, Version History. You can remove items by clicking the Change button next to the list.

See the Managing Content Types in Staging article for more information on managing content during the publication process.

Deletions

This portion of the menu lets you delete two things:

  • portlet metadata before publishing
  • operations performed for content types.

You have two options to manage for deletions:

Delete Application Data Before Importing: all data created by the application is deleted before the import process. Ensure you understand the ramifications of this option before selecting it. Some applications in other pages may reference this data. This process cannot be undone. If you are unsure, complete an export first.

Replicate Individual Deletions: operations performed for content in the staging environment are replicated to the target site.

Permissions

This area lets you include permissions for the pages and portlets when the changes are published. Select the Publish Permissions checkbox to enable this functionality.

Once you’re finished configuring you advanced publication, select Publish to Live to publish or schedule your publication.

« Staging ContentManaging Content Types in Staging »
この記事は役に立ちましたか?
0人中0人がこの記事が役に立ったと言っています