Recycle Bin Intelligence and Support

Have you ever wondered what happens to file shortcuts if their linked assets are recycled? What if you restore a file that has the same name as another file currently stored in your site/instance? The Recycle Bin already knows how to handle these types of issues.

When documents with shortcuts are moved to the Recycle Bin, the shortcuts are removed. This ensures that all your links and shortcuts work and cuts down on maintenance time and backtracking.

Another important trait is the duplicate name recognition feature. When a file is restored, the Recycle Bin scans the corresponding asset type files currently in the site/instance to check for duplicate file names. If a duplicate file name is found, the Recycle Bin prompts you to overwrite the existing file or rename the file name you’re trying to restore.

For example, suppose you have the document file1 stored in the Recycle Bin and you have a separate document you created later with the same name in the document library. If you try to restore the file1 document, the Recycle Bin recognizes duplicate names and prompts you to overwrite the existing document in the document library or rename the document you’re trying to restore.

Figure 1: The Recycle Bin always scans your site/instance for duplicate file names during the restoration process.

Figure 1: The Recycle Bin always scans your site/instance for duplicate file names during the restoration process.

Although the Recycle Bin prohibits the restoration of files that match pre-existing file names in your site/instance, it stores files with matching names.

The Staging Recycle Bin

Although you there is only one master Recycle Bin for all asset types, when staging is enabled a Staging Recycle Bin is created. The original Recycle Bin, or Live Recycle Bin, is still viewable while in staging; however, it is never used.

During staging, everything you recycle is sent to the Staging Recycle Bin. This prevents staged and unstaged recycled content from mixing. For example, if you have an unstaged document currently on your live site you can enable staging and delete that document. If you were to turn staging off and return to the live site, without separate Recycle Bins, the live document would be both on your site and in the Recycle Bin! Because of this, the separate Staging Recycle Bin is necessary and only used during the staging process. When you publish your staged material, the Staging Recycle Bin content is transferred to the Live Recycle Bin.

The Recycle Bin saves you time by letting you restore content that’s been recycled. Instead of recreating or re-uploading content, you’ll be tailoring your Liferay instance to fully leverage its capabilities.

« Using the Recycle BinIntroduction to Collaboration »
この記事は役に立ちましたか?
0人中0人がこの記事が役に立ったと言っています