Checking Out and Editing Files

When you check out a document in the Document Library, only you can make changes to it until you check it back in. This prevents conflicting edits on the same document by multiple users. When you check out a file, you can download it, replace it, move it to another Document Library folder, check it in, or cancel the checkout. Checking in a file also increments its version, which lets you keep track of changes.

Unless you’re using Liferay Sync or a local drive mapped to the file’s WebDAV URL, follow these steps to edit a Document Library file from your machine:

  1. Checkout the file by clicking its Actions icon (Actions) → Checkout. Upon checkout, the file’s status changes to Draft.

  2. Download the file by clicking its Actions icon (Actions) → Download.

  3. Edit the file locally.

  4. Return to the Documents and Media Library and click the file’s Actions icon (Actions) → Edit. The file’s edit screen appears.

  5. From the file’s Edit screen, select the edited local file for upload.

  6. Click Save and Check In. In the pop-up that appears, select whether your change is a major or minor version, add any version notes that you need, and click Save.

Follow these steps to access a file’s version history:

  1. Click the file in the Documents and Media Library.

  2. Click the file’s Info button (i) at the top-right of the screen.

  3. Select Versions from the menu currently set to display the file’s details.

Each file version has an Actions menu (Actions) that you can use to perform the following actions on that file version:

Download: Download the selected version of the file to your machine.

View: View the file entry screen for the selected version of the file.

Revert: Restores the selected file version as a new major file version.

Delete Version: Remove the file version from the Document Library. All other file versions remain intact.

Figure 1: The version history actions let you inspect, delete, and reinstate file versions.

Figure 1: The version history actions let you inspect, delete, and reinstate file versions.

« Publishing FilesDesktop Access to Documents and Media »
この記事は役に立ちましたか?
0人中0人がこの記事が役に立ったと言っています