Using Your Local Liferay Sync Folder

Once you configure and run Sync, Sync automatically uploads to Liferay DXP any files you add or modify in your Sync folder. Sync also downloads to your Sync folder any file changes by other users. If you delete a file in your Sync folder, Sync also deletes it from the server and other clients. You should therefore use extreme caution when deleting files in your Sync folder. If, however, you accidentally delete a file, all is not lost! The file can still be recovered from the instance’s Recycle Bin, which is enabled by default. Note, if the administrator has disabled the Recycle Bin, recovering deleted files is impossible.

You can run through the following exercise to familiarize yourself with how to create, edit, download, and upload files with Sync. First, open the Sync folder in your file manager and create a new file called README.txt. Enter the word test in this file. Next, make sure you can access this file in your Site. Go to the Site you want to sync with and navigate to its Documents and Media app. It lists your README.txt file.

Download the README.txt file to a convenient location on your machine. Open the file and check that it still says test. Now open the README.txt file in your Sync folder and edit it so that it says second test. Once the changes are synced, go back to your browser and refresh the page with your Documents and Media app. Click on the README.txt file’s name, look at the file information displayed, and check that the file’s version number has been incremented.

Figure 1: Updating a file through Liferay Sync increments the files version number. You can view a files version number through the web interface.

Figure 1: Updating a file through Liferay Sync increments the file's version number. You can view a file's version number through the web interface.

If you download and open README.txt again, it now says second test. Your edit was uploaded to the Site! You can be confident that this edit was also downloaded by all other Sync clients connected to your Site.

Now delete the README.txt file from your local Sync folder. When the changes finish syncing, go back to your browser and refresh the page containing your Documents and Media app. The file is gone! The file is also deleted from the local Sync folders of all other Sync clients connected to the Site. Remember this very important rule: deleting files in your local Sync folder deletes them everywhere! Next, you’ll learn how to use the Sync client for your mobile device.

« Using the Liferay Sync Desktop ClientUsing Liferay Sync on Your Mobile Device »
この記事は役に立ちましたか?
0人中0人がこの記事が役に立ったと言っています