Managing Files and Folders in Liferay Sync Mobile

Whether you’re working in My Documents or My Sites, you manage files and folders the same way. Pressing a Site or folder shows you a list of its files and folders. It displays each file’s size and modification date. You can refresh the list by pulling down from the top of the screen. Your current location in the navigation hierarchy also appears at the top of the screen alongside a plus icon. Pressing the plus icon launches an upload screen for adding content in the current location. You can add a new folder, upload a file, or launch your device’s camera app to take and upload a picture or video. Pressing the X icon on the upload screen’s top right corner cancels any action and returns you to the current file list.

Figure 1: Sync shows files and folders in a list.

Figure 1: Sync shows files and folders in a list.

To download a file to your device, press the file’s name in the list. The label that previously showed the file’s size and modification date is replaced by a download progress indicator. When the file finishes downloading, your device automatically opens it in the app you’ve configured to open files of that type. If you haven’t configured your device to use a specific app for that file type, you’re presented with a list of apps on your device that can open the file. If your device doesn’t have an app that can open the file, Sync tells you to install one that can. Downloaded files appear in the list with the file size in blue instead of gray. For example, the screenshot below shows that LiferayinAction.pdf is on the device.

Figure 2: Downloaded files appear in the list with their size in blue.

Figure 2: Downloaded files appear in the list with their size in blue.

The Sync mobile app also lets you move, rename, and delete files and folders. To the right of each file and folder in the list is a circle icon with three dots. Pressing this icon slides open a context menu on the right that lets you move, rename, or delete that item. The screenshots below show these options. Note that you should use extreme caution when deleting files or folders. Deleting files or folders in the mobile Sync app also deletes them from Liferay DXP and across any synced clients. Accidentally deleted files can be restored from the Recycle Bin, which is enabled by default. If the instance or Site administrator disables the Recycle Bin, however, recovering deleted files is impossible.

What if you want to delete a file on your device without also deleting it in the instance? Currently, you can only do this by signing out of your account in the app’s Settings menu. Doing so removes all downloaded files from your device, but preserves them in the instance. If you’re on Android, it may be possible to use a system file browser app to remove downloaded files manually.

The context menu also provides additional options for files. A small badge on the file icon’s top-right corner indicates the file’s version in the Liferay DXP instance. You can also use the context menu to share files you’ve downloaded. Pressing the Share icon opens a list of your device’s apps capable of sharing the file. To close the context menu and return to the list of files and folders, swipe to the right. The following screenshot shows the options available in a file’s context menu.

Figure 3: The badge on the files icon shows the files version in the Liferay DXP instance. You can also share files that youve downloaded.

Figure 3: The badge on the file's icon shows the file's version in the Liferay DXP instance. You can also share files that you've downloaded.

« Connecting Liferay Sync MobileAdapting Your Media Across Multiple Devices »
この記事は役に立ちましたか?
0人中0人がこの記事が役に立ったと言っています