Adding Members to Sites

In Adding Sites you learned the difference between Site Membership Types and about public and private pages within a Site. Now you’ll learn how to add users manually to Sites and how to provide options for self management. For review, there are a few key reasons why Site Membership management is important:

  1. Only Site Members can view a Site’s Private Pages.

  2. Site Members have more permissions than guests for many widgets like Message Boards and Wikis that enable them to create content and collaborate on your Site.

  3. Site Members can be associated with Roles that grant Site privileges.

Administrating Site Membership

Administrators can manage Site members from that Site’s Site Membership page.

  1. Open Site Administration and select the Site that you want to manage members for.

  2. Click on PeopleMemberships

From here you can manage Site Memberships, Organization, and User Group associations. You can learn more about those in the Users and Organizations tutorial. Here you see a list of all of the current Users of the Site and you can add or remove user memberships from the Site.

Figure 1: The current members of the Site as displayed on the Site Memberships page.

Figure 1: The current members of the Site as displayed on the *Site Memberships* page.

Adding Members to a Site

Follow these steps to make an existing user a member of the Site:

  1. Click the New (Add User) button in the top right of the screen.

  2. Use Filter and Order or the Search function to locate the User you want to add to the Site.

  3. Select the User(s) you wish and click Done.

On the Assign Users to This Site screen, all Users eligible to be added to the Site appear. Deactivated Users do not appear. Site members also appear, but with a greyed-out checkbox.

Figure 2: The list of users available to add to the current Site. Note that the current members are visible but cannot be added or removed here.

Figure 2: The list of users available to add to the current Site. Note that the current members are visible but cannot be added or removed here.

Removing User Membership from a Site

There are two ways to remove a user from a Site. You can remove an individual member like this:

  1. Click the Actions (Actions) icon for the user that you want to remove.

  2. Select Remove Membership.

  3. In the pop-up that appears, confirm the removal.

Figure 3: Selecting to remove a user.

Figure 3: Selecting to remove a user.

To remove several users at once, you can do this:

  1. Click the checkbox for each user that you want to remove.

  2. In the menu at the top of the page, click the X icon to remove the users from the Site.

  3. In the pop-up that appears, confirm the removal.

Removed Users lose access to the Site’s private pages and membership in any Site Roles or Teams they had.

Assigning Site Roles

Roles grant permissions in Liferay DXP. Roles can be assigned for the entire instance or just for one specific Site or Organization. Site Roles assign permissions for a specific Site.

You can use the same interface options that you used to remove Users from the Site to assign them to Site Roles. If you select a User or Users and click Assign Site Roles (either through the Actions menu or the menu at the top), you are taken to the Assign Site Roles screen. From here:

  1. Select the Roles that you want to assign to the selected users.

  2. Click Done.

Figure 4: Assigning Site Roles.

Figure 4: Assigning Site Roles.

Site Roles are created at a global level, but when they’re assigned they only provide privileges for the specific Site where they were assigned. Since Roles are created at a global level, they cannot be created by Site Administrators (since Site Administrators only have Administrator privileges for their Site). Teams allow Site Administrators to assign permissions to groups of Users within their Sites. Next, you’ll look at more configuration for managing members of your Site.

« Managing Members in Your SiteCreating Teams to Empower Site Members »
この記事は役に立ちましたか?
0人中0人がこの記事が役に立ったと言っています